Scheduling, Previewing, & Canceling Email Campaigns

Modified on Wed, 2 Sep at 2:20 PM

Jump To:



Schedule & Customize a Campaign


  1. Click Campaigns on the lefthand side menu > Reactivation > Schedule Campaign
  2. Select the campaign you would like to send
  3. Choose the Date your campaign will be sent 
  4. Click Schedule. 



Want to know more about how to edit campaigns? Go to How to Edit a Campaign.


Preview Edited Campaigns


After you schedule a Reactivation campaign, click the eye icon on the far right.


The pop-up window will show:

  • The email campaign copy (Subject Line + Body of the email).
  • Token practice information (practice name, example contact name, etc).
  • All clickable links within a campaign that the recipient would interact with (and you can preview as well).

Note: The pop-up window may show "extra" white space between the Title and the email body. This is a display issue; the email will be formatted correctly when it is sent.





How to Test a Campaign

  • Click Campaigns from the lefthand side menu, then Reactivation.
  • Click Schedule Campaign at the top righthand corner, then select the campaign you want to test in the campaign dropdown menu.
  • Click the Test button located to the right of the campaign dropdown menu.
  • Enter the email address you want to use for testing purposes.
  • Enter the phone number you want to use for testing purposes.
  • Click Test in the bottom right corner of the pop-up window.
  • Check the corresponding account(s) to confirm the test send of the campaign.



Cancel/Delete Edited Campaigns

  • Canceling an Edited Campaign that has been scheduled: 
    • Click Campaigns > Reactivation from the lefthand side menu.
    • Locate the campaign on the list.
    • Click the delete icon (trash can).
    • Click Delete in the bottom right corner of the pop-up window to confirm.
  • Deleting an Edited Campaign from your My Campaigns library: 

    • Click Campaigns > Reactivation from the lefthand side menu.
    • Click Schedule Campaign at the top righthand corner.
    • Select a campaign from the Reactivation Campaigns dropdown menu
      • Note: Only edited campaigns, found under My Campaigns, can be deleted. A delete button will only come up for these campaigns.
    • Click the Delete button to the right of the campaign dropdown.
    • Click Delete in the bottom right corner of the pop-up window to confirm.


Note: You can cancel a campaign, even if it has already begun sending to your audience. If your campaign contained a triggered campaign, you will also need to click delete to cancel that campaign. 


Only editable campaigns can be deleted. To permanently delete a campaign, click Schedule Campaign, locate the campaign from My Campaigns in the dropdown list, and click the (trash can) delete button - this will permanently remove the custom campaign from your campaign library.


What are Campaign Triggers?

  • Some campaigns have associated triggers. These are secondary campaigns activated when the user performs a specific action on the original campaign, such as opening or clicking. 
  • Any triggered campaigns will be listed on the bottom right beneath the editing window. 
  • If you schedule a campaign with an associated trigger, the secondary campaign will appear on your Scheduled Campaigns list nested beneath the primary campaign. 
    • Your contacts will only receive the secondary campaign if they perform the specific action defined on the campaign editing page. 
    • If your campaign contained a triggered campaign, that campaign will also be located in the scheduled campaign list with the same start date as your original campaign.
    • Click 'Edit' and scroll down to Campaign Triggers. This is where you can add a trigger step to the campaign.
      • You can choose to add the trigger on 'Clicked', 'Opened,' or 'Sent'.
      • You can choose to remove the contact from a campaign once they've performed the trigger action, but this is optional.
      • You can choose to add the contact to a new campaign sequence once they've performed the trigger action, but this is optional.
      • Be sure to click 'Add Trigger' to add and save the changes.




When do campaigns send?

  • The initial campaign email will go out at 8 AM local time on the date you choose. 
  • Follow-up emails will typically be sent between 8 AM and 10 AM.

Who receives reactivation campaigns?

  • Only contacts that are not currently active in a patient phase (contacts in "No Phase") receive Reactivation Campaigns. Reactivation Campaigns are designed to specifically target your 'No Phase' contacts.
  • Contacts already in an automated sequence (workshop registrants, scheduled POC, etc.) will not receive these emails until they are moved to No Phase.
    • Contacts in 'Pending' status will not receive Reactivation Campaigns, but will continue to get workshop indoc emails and any other email sequence they are currently in, but will not receive any new campaigns once the campaign sequence they are in, is finished.

Phase-based Audience Filter for Reactivation Campaigns

On the Schedule Campaign page, you are unable to select a Phase-based audience filter for Reactivation campaigns. These campaigns are written specifically for No Phase (inactive) contacts and may not make sense to a broader audience. When a Reactivation campaign has been selected, the Reactivation and All Contacts buttons will be grayed out, as well as the phase field.

  • Users can still segment by Insurance and/or Sex for Reactivation campaigns.
    • You can save a Segment - for example, if you have campaigns that regularly go out to anyone with the 'Runner' tag and Aetna as the insurance carrier, you may want to save that audience segment.
  • Custom text or email campaigns can still be segmented by Phase.
  • On the Schedule Campaign page, users can now filter the Reactivation dropdown menu by AI-enabled campaigns.

  • If links are not responsive inside of a campaign, it typically means that either the link does not exist or there is a formatting issue in the campaign or the link itself.
  • It's important to preview and test campaigns before scheduling them. Campaigns related to specific funnels may not function properly if the related funnel is not active on your account. 
  • If you preview a campaign and find that a link isn't behaving as expected, or your practice information looks inaccurate in the preview, send an email to support@getbreakthrough.com with details and screenshots.





Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article